The Blessed Guitar

12-11 06 Culto de Mujeres Solteras

Here are some of my neighbors. They attend one of the three services at our little mission church in Hna. Angela’s garage.

IMG_0706

Here’s my Martin D-16 Limited Edition acoustic guitar. I’ve used it for country, gospel, and blue grass music. Mostly, it stays in its case next to my Gretsch Chet Atkins Country Gentleman electric guitar. I played a lot of years to make money and make the pretty girls, uh, dance for me. But last Saturday afternoon, I brought old Martin to church and he played alabanzas, praise songs, for the congregation. I think he enjoyed the chance to make music once more. He was a little slow at times following the chord changes for the many songs he’d never heard before but he’s an old pro and quick to recover without missing a beat. He had so much fun last Saturday that he’s going to do it again tonight.

 

Leave a Reply

