Would Jesus Patronize Chik-Fil-A? A WWJD Moment

Jesus and the Twelve arrive at North Wichita after a hard morning’s trek along KS 96 from Hutchinson and they’re hungry.  “There’s a Chik-Fil-A” shouts James. 

“I hear they’ve got great food there” responds John.

Cries of “I’m starved!” come from the stragglers.

Peter, ever the skeptic, says, “I’m not eating there.  They pervert the Lord’s teachings and discriminate against God’s children who are gays, lesbians, bisexuals, and transdressers”.

Matthew chimes in, “I’d forgotten about that.  Wasn’t there some kind of protest about that recently?  I think I heard that the owner was a follower and sought to maintain family values.  The things that Jesus taught us about marriage being between a man and a woman.”

Jude agrees and says, “I’m sure the Lord would want to meet this man and congratulate him for keeping to his teachings.”

“Surely”, Andrew answers, “these people’s lifestyles are contrary to the Torah to which we are bound by God’s own words to Moses.  We must support Chik-Fil-A.”

“Look”, called Philip, “there’s a crowd out front of the restaurant.  They’re carrying signs and shaking their fists at us.  I don’t understand.  What’s happening?”

“It’s always like this.” Jesus replied.  “Those who don’t understand my parables and don’t understand my words only teach others falsely.  Remember my words to the seventy-two when I sent them out to preach my gospel.  I said, ‘If anyone will not welcome you or listen to your words, shake the dust off your feet when you leave that home or town.  I tell you the truth, it will be more bearable for Sodom and Gomorrah on the day of judgement for that town.’ “

Thomas inquired doubtingly, “But isn’t all forms of homosexual behavior condemned by our Father as an abomination to him?”

“Oh, Thomas!  Do you not remember what Paul said to Timothy in his first God-inspired letter to him? ‘For everything that God created is good.’  That means we are to hate the sin but not the sinner.  It is not for man to judge the behavior of his fellow-man, but to teach and practice love, agape love, rather than mete punishment that is not in man’s province to mete.  The Spirit himself testifies with our spirit that we are God’s children.”

Peter, having heard the Master’s words, spoke, “Let us go and reason with those people with the words that God has always provided.  Some will have ears to listen.  Others will not.  Everything in God’s time.  When we have spoken, let’s go inside and have some food.  I’m hungry too.”

“It is better to trust in the Lord than to put confidence in man.       It is better to trust in the Lord than to put confidence in princes.” Psalm 118-8&9.

Leave a Reply

